Private nonprofitFour-year

University of Puget Sound

Tacoma, WA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$38,394
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$62,898
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
68.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$69,594
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$78,378
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$62,898
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$62,898
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$16,498
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$16,498
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00023,643
$30,001–48,00023,133
$48,001–75,00031,649
$75,001–110,00034,870
$110,001+45,456

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
68.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
76.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
84.0%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,802
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$69,594
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$25,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$265.04
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
81.8%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $69,594 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
72.3%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,296
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
27–31
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,594
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
10:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
12.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
17.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
43.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$90,105
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White66%
Hispanic11%
Black3%
Asian7%
Two or more races9%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Four-year institutions in WA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Antioch University-SeattleNot reportedNot reported$51,541
Bastyr UniversityNot reportedNot reported$49,364
Bates Technical College$6,29243.4%$50,051
Bellevue College$11,43035.8%$56,310
Bellingham Technical College$5,99741.7%$49,748
Big Bend Community College$12,21041.5%$43,814
Cascadia College$12,28132.1%$54,133
Central Washington University$18,47653.6%$61,580
Centralia College$9,86241.7%$43,140
City University of SeattleNot reportedNot reported$69,460
Clark College$11,46539.0%$42,356
Clover Park Technical College$9,86442.8%$41,787

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer Science.$98,696$107,009$25,000
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$85,925$82,893Not reported
Economics.$81,082$82,686$26,031
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$79,192$71,416Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$77,585$68,257$26,442
Education, General.$77,402$65,824Not reported
Mathematics.$75,462$69,562$22,000
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$68,035$60,111Not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.$65,986$55,693Not reported
Psychology, General.$61,919$50,706$27,000
Communication and Media Studies.$61,904$56,359$27,000
History.$60,458$50,680$20,500
Area Studies.$57,407$56,625$27,000
Education, General.$57,205$49,808$27,000
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.$56,052$55,000$27,000
Biological and Physical Sciences.$55,690$58,891$26,629
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.$53,792$51,642$27,000
Biology, General.$52,645$57,214$24,654
Political Science and Government.$52,278$63,293$22,801
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$52,234$54,562$21,646

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10