Private nonprofitFour-yearHBCU

Virginia Union University

Richmond, VA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$13,235
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$17,450
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
34.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,275
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$29,075
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$17,450
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$17,450
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$11,016
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,580
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
Not reported
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00011,424
$30,001–48,00012,372
$48,001–75,00014,420
$75,001–110,00021,362
$110,001+18,301

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
34.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
40.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
66.6%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$27,977
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,275
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.5%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$29,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$307.45
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
19.8%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $38,275 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
98.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
850
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,203
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
40.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
68.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
71.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$26,681
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White1%
Hispanic1%
Black75%
Asian0%
Two or more races2%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in VA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American National UniversityNot reported33.3%$26,370
Appalachian College of PharmacyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Appalachian School of LawNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Arizona College of Nursing - ChesapeakeNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Arizona College of Nursing-Falls ChurchNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Ascent CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Averett UniversityNot reported48.1%$51,516
Bluefield College - Edward Via College of Osteopathic MedicineNot reportedNot reported$48,896
Bluefield UniversityNot reported17.8%$48,896
Bon Secours Memorial College of NursingNot reportedNot reported$77,014
Bridgewater CollegeNot reported53.0%$53,453
Bryant & Stratton College-HamptonNot reportedNot reported$32,568

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations.$64,924$75,399$35,000
Theological and Ministerial Studies.$51,836$63,395Not reported
Psychology, General.$50,826$50,706$27,000
Criminology.$49,024$55,556$31,450
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$45,214$92,374$27,000
Communication and Media Studies.$42,376$56,359$31,000
Biology, General.$40,032$57,214$33,700
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$39,251$68,257$29,000
Social Work.$38,872$51,790Not reported
Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural Sciences.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.Not reported$55,693Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported
Theological and Ministerial Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial Studies.Not reported$71,982Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Physics.Not reported$76,786Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$59,916Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$47,382Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10