PublicFour-year

University of Virginia's College at Wise

Wise, VA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$9,210
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$11,780
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
47.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,325
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$26,593
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$11,780
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$28,010
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$12,816
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$11,000
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,600
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0008,891
$30,001–48,0007,668
$48,001–75,0007,455
$75,001–110,0008,813
$110,001+16,176

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
47.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
43.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
71.6%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,725
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$45,325
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$16,750
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$177.58
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
56.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $45,325 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
28.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,050
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
18–22
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,101
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
14:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
36.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
39.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
22.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$35,325
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White36%
Hispanic0%
Black4%
Asian1%
Two or more races1%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Four-year institutions in VA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American National UniversityNot reported33.3%$26,370
Appalachian College of PharmacyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Appalachian School of LawNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Arizona College of Nursing - ChesapeakeNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Arizona College of Nursing-Falls ChurchNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Ascent CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Averett UniversityNot reported48.1%$51,516
Bluefield College - Edward Via College of Osteopathic MedicineNot reportedNot reported$48,896
Bluefield UniversityNot reported17.8%$48,896
Bon Secours Memorial College of NursingNot reportedNot reported$77,014
Bridgewater CollegeNot reported53.0%$53,453
Bryant & Stratton College-HamptonNot reportedNot reported$32,568

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$51,193$55,378$19,313
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$50,029$68,257$15,799
Psychology, General.$44,430$50,706$18,031
Education, General.$41,804$49,808Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Biological and Physical Sciences.Not reported$58,891Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reported$54,562Not reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Social Sciences, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Economics.Not reported$82,686Not reported
Political Science and Government.Not reported$63,293Not reported
Sociology.Not reported$52,657Not reported
Visual and Performing Arts, General.Not reported$41,688Not reported
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.Not reported$39,775Not reported
Music.Not reported$42,892Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.Not reported$88,910Not reported
Business/Commerce, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10