PublicFour-year

University of Mary Washington

Fredericksburg, VA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$20,667
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$14,640
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
66.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$60,613
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$31,137
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$14,640
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$27,560
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$14,250
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,040
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,200
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00010,304
$30,001–48,00011,061
$48,001–75,00015,477
$75,001–110,00026,212
$110,001+30,986

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
66.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
69.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
84.4%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,411
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$60,613
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$20,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$217.33
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
74.2%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $60,613 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
79.8%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,272
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
27–31
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
3,566
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
13:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
24.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
21.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
29.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$80,643
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White59%
Hispanic13%
Black8%
Asian4%
Two or more races6%
Nonresident / international3%

Other Four-year institutions in VA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American National UniversityNot reported33.3%$26,370
Appalachian College of PharmacyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Appalachian School of LawNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Arizona College of Nursing - ChesapeakeNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Arizona College of Nursing-Falls ChurchNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Ascent CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Averett UniversityNot reported48.1%$51,516
Bluefield College - Edward Via College of Osteopathic MedicineNot reportedNot reported$48,896
Bluefield UniversityNot reported17.8%$48,896
Bon Secours Memorial College of NursingNot reportedNot reported$77,014
Bridgewater CollegeNot reported53.0%$53,453
Bryant & Stratton College-HamptonNot reportedNot reported$32,568

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$113,022$103,485Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$95,461$92,374$22,142
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$91,861$88,910$16,910
Mathematics.$82,677$69,562$24,475
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$72,382$68,257$22,250
Economics.$67,903$82,686Not reported
Biology, General.$61,864$57,214$22,567
Political Science and Government.$60,881$63,293$24,899
Physical Sciences, Other.$59,594$63,096$25,250
Sociology.$58,224$52,657$23,500
Education, General.$58,149$65,824Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$57,480$59,916Not reported
History.$54,625$50,680$23,018
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$54,336$53,072$22,354
Psychology, General.$53,388$50,706$22,989
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services.$53,282$49,984$20,500
Geography and Cartography.$53,081$57,853$19,500
International Relations and National Security Studies.$51,166$66,596$25,086
English Language and Literature, General.$45,824$48,590$23,990
Historic Preservation and Conservation.$44,823$49,728$23,250

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10