Private nonprofitFour-year

Eastern Mennonite University

Harrisonburg, VA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$24,588
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$43,920
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
67.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,869
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$56,756
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$43,920
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$43,920
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$13,170
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$11,700
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,100
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00022,994
$30,001–48,00020,333
$48,001–75,00020,454
$75,001–110,00027,570
$110,001+29,315

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
67.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
63.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
76.1%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,158
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,869
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$24,813
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$263.06
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
77.6%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $54,869 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
100.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
754
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
31.9%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
32.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
55.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$62,190
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White51%
Hispanic16%
Black15%
Asian2%
Two or more races5%
Nonresident / international6%

Other Four-year institutions in VA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American National UniversityNot reported33.3%$26,370
Appalachian College of PharmacyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Appalachian School of LawNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Arizona College of Nursing - ChesapeakeNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Arizona College of Nursing-Falls ChurchNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Ascent CollegeNot reported100.0%Not reported
Averett UniversityNot reported48.1%$51,516
Bluefield College - Edward Via College of Osteopathic MedicineNot reportedNot reported$48,896
Bluefield UniversityNot reported17.8%$48,896
Bon Secours Memorial College of NursingNot reportedNot reported$77,014
Bridgewater CollegeNot reported53.0%$53,453
Bryant & Stratton College-HamptonNot reportedNot reported$32,568

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$81,610$88,910$28,979
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$53,229$53,072$27,000
Communication and Media Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.Not reported$50,497Not reported
Computer Science.Not reported$107,009Not reported
Curriculum and Instruction.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching Assistants/Aides.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reported$48,471Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$44,125Not reported
Biology, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10