PublicFour-yearHispanic-serving

West Texas A & M University

Canyon, TX · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$19,487
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$9,101
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
55.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,741
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$23,482
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$9,101
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$10,996
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$9,278
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$9,204
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,200
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00016,525
$30,001–48,00017,218
$48,001–75,00019,268
$75,001–110,00022,454
$110,001+23,439

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
55.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
47.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
69.6%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,399
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$50,741
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$19,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$206.73
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
55.6%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $50,741 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
98.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,050
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
18–23
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
6,917
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
14:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
39.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
41.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
36.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$42,482
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White50%
Hispanic35%
Black4%
Asian2%
Two or more races2%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Four-year institutions in TX

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Abilene Christian UniversityNot reported59.0%$55,736
Abilene Christian University-Undergraduate OnlineNot reportedNot reported$55,736
Acupuncture and Integrative Medicine College Berkeley - AustinNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alvin Community College$8,52524.0%$45,762
Amberton UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
American College of Acupuncture and Oriental MedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
American InterContinental University-HoustonNot reported4.5%$36,144
Angelo State University$15,09144.0%$50,116
Arizona College of Nursing-DallasNot reportedNot reported$34,657
Arlington Baptist UniversityNot reported19.4%$44,644
Austin CollegeNot reported67.0%$61,296
Austin Community College District$6,39020.2%$43,177

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Management Information Systems and Services.$143,805$106,092Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$124,819$103,485Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services.$121,970$110,694Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$118,510$120,193Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$117,518$89,981Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$93,938$92,135$21,125
Accounting and Related Services.$83,825$95,833Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$79,583$88,910$22,884
Public Administration.$74,261$65,093$24,798
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$71,979$68,257$22,070
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.$67,693$67,030Not reported
Finance and Financial Management Services.$66,534$83,343$20,993
Educational/Instructional Media Design.$65,110$70,644Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.$63,537$64,397Not reported
Educational Administration and Supervision.$62,763$71,685Not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$62,283$60,111Not reported
Social Work.$62,188$65,123Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$61,262$76,194$19,651
Business/Commerce, General.$60,430$68,407$23,383
Curriculum and Instruction.$59,555$63,399Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10