PublicFour-year

The University of Tennessee-Martin

Martin, TN · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$10,701
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$10,560
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
52.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,213
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$23,079
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$10,560
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$16,600
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$7,544
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$10,112
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,500
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0007,151
$30,001–48,0008,961
$48,001–75,00011,640
$75,001–110,00015,343
$110,001+15,827

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
52.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
53.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
77.0%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,863
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,213
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,024
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$222.89
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
55.2%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $44,213 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
88.2%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,120
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
19–25
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
4,866
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
16:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
39.1%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
34.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
30.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$35,300
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White75%
Hispanic5%
Black15%
Asian1%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in TN

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American Baptist CollegeNot reported38.9%$41,216
Austin Peay State University$9,73540.2%$44,301
Baptist Health Sciences UniversityNot reported39.8%$72,529
Belmont UniversityNot reported70.7%$55,930
Bethel UniversityNot reported35.0%$47,482
Bryan College-DaytonNot reported49.7%$54,434
Carson-Newman UniversityNot reported53.2%$48,382
Casa Loma College - NashvilleNot reportedNot reported$49,854
Chattanooga College Medical Dental and & Technical CareersNot reported12.0%$25,954
Christian Brothers UniversityNot reported54.7%$57,478
Cumberland UniversityNot reported45.6%$57,687
East Tennessee State University$15,98353.2%$44,859

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$99,532$103,485Not reported
Engineering, General.$87,043$89,359$29,750
Computer Science.$79,403$107,009Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$77,092$88,910$25,231
Finance and Financial Management Services.$64,840$83,343$20,500
Biology, General.$63,410$57,214$25,900
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$59,759$60,111Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$59,150$76,194$20,875
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$54,552$68,257$26,157
Political Science and Government.$52,029$63,293Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$50,046$59,916Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$49,817$54,562$23,938
History.$49,555$50,680Not reported
Marketing.$48,255$69,303$17,548
Agriculture, General.$47,956$53,676$19,500
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy.$46,540$56,185$22,748
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$46,142$55,378$22,671
Music.$44,910$42,892Not reported
Communication and Media Studies.$44,231$56,359$24,481
Social Work.$42,811$51,790$25,653

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10