Private nonprofitFour-yearHispanic-serving

Southern Adventist University

Collegedale, TN · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$24,345
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$27,300
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
49.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,723
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$38,618
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$27,300
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$27,300
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$8,900
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$12,600
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,100
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00019,123
$30,001–48,00020,421
$48,001–75,00022,849
$75,001–110,00026,679
$110,001+30,751

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
49.4%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
63.1%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
82.8%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,818
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$53,723
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$24,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$259.74
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
62.7%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $53,723 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
65.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,129
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
19–25
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
2,773
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
19:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
18.2%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
30.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
42.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$50,894
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White37%
Hispanic26%
Black6%
Asian14%
Two or more races7%
Nonresident / international8%

Other Four-year institutions in TN

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American Baptist CollegeNot reported38.9%$41,216
Austin Peay State University$9,73540.2%$44,301
Baptist Health Sciences UniversityNot reported39.8%$72,529
Belmont UniversityNot reported70.7%$55,930
Bethel UniversityNot reported35.0%$47,482
Bryan College-DaytonNot reported49.7%$54,434
Carson-Newman UniversityNot reported53.2%$48,382
Casa Loma College - NashvilleNot reportedNot reported$49,854
Chattanooga College Medical Dental and & Technical CareersNot reported12.0%$25,954
Christian Brothers UniversityNot reported54.7%$57,478
Cumberland UniversityNot reported45.6%$57,687
East Tennessee State University$15,98353.2%$44,859

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$112,639$120,193Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$83,525$88,910$28,191
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$75,891$80,813$25,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$59,895$54,562$25,975
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology.$54,779$65,184Not reported
Social Work.$52,732$65,123Not reported
Social Work.$51,516$51,790$24,575
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$50,119$47,382$24,250
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$48,307$68,257Not reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Journalism.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Journalism.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies.Not reported$51,710Not reported
Journalism.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication and Media Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10