PublicFour-year

The University of Tennessee Southern

Pulaski, TN · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$12,798
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$10,924
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
36.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,924
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$24,750
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$10,924
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$10,924
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$8,300
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$13,500
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,500
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0009,335
$30,001–48,00012,071
$48,001–75,00015,343
$75,001–110,00017,336
$110,001+17,135

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
36.9%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
30.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
77.2%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,151
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$38,924
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$21,500
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$227.94
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
43.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $38,924 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
86.7%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,083
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
18–24
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
864
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
14:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
41.0%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
36.3%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
26.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$29,930
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White75%
Hispanic6%
Black5%
Asian1%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international8%

Other Four-year institutions in TN

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American Baptist CollegeNot reported38.9%$41,216
Austin Peay State University$9,73540.2%$44,301
Baptist Health Sciences UniversityNot reported39.8%$72,529
Belmont UniversityNot reported70.7%$55,930
Bethel UniversityNot reported35.0%$47,482
Bryan College-DaytonNot reported49.7%$54,434
Carson-Newman UniversityNot reported53.2%$48,382
Casa Loma College - NashvilleNot reportedNot reported$49,854
Chattanooga College Medical Dental and & Technical CareersNot reported12.0%$25,954
Christian Brothers UniversityNot reported54.7%$57,478
Cumberland UniversityNot reported45.6%$57,687
East Tennessee State University$15,98353.2%$44,859

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$59,648$68,257$24,625
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$45,980$88,910$25,683
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$39,192$54,562$23,125
Psychology, General.$38,072$50,706$19,800
Special Education and Teaching.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$47,382Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.Not reported$42,259Not reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Literature.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$44,125Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$44,758Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Behavioral Sciences.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and Religious Studies, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Theological and Ministerial Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Psychology, General.Not reported$39,288Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10