PublicFour-yearHBCU

Mississippi Valley State University

Itta Bena, MS · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$9,686
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$7,692
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
26.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$31,919
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$21,154
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$7,692
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$7,692
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$8,956
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$8,956
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$2,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0009,073
$30,001–48,0009,076
$48,001–75,0009,627
$75,001–110,00012,440
$110,001+17,479

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
26.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
26.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
69.8%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$25,817
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$31,919
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$28,413
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$301.23
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
36.2%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $31,919 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
92.4%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
870
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
13–17
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,439
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
13:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
42.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
56.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
49.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$16,762
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White3%
Hispanic2%
Black91%
Asian1%
Two or more races0%
Nonresident / international0%

Other Four-year institutions in MS

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Alcorn State University$13,26557.4%$36,421
Belhaven UniversityNot reported48.5%$46,440
Blue Mountain Christian UniversityNot reported54.8%$40,421
Delta State University$13,54048.1%$41,991
Jackson State University$23,83650.9%$39,060
Millsaps CollegeNot reported57.1%$53,848
Mississippi Christian UniversityNot reported59.3%$47,485
Mississippi State University$17,59566.7%$51,513
Mississippi University for Women$12,41146.8%$46,128
Rust CollegeNot reported11.8%$32,275
Southeastern Baptist CollegeNot reported80.0%$26,946
Strayer University-MississippiNot reported0.0%$40,092

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$53,691$68,257Not reported
Social Work.$36,542$65,123Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Not reported$92,374Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$47,382Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$59,916Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$51,389Not reported
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians.Not reported$80,890Not reported
Non-Professional Legal Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reported$53,072Not reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214Not reported
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology.Not reported$110,121Not reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reported$54,562Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reported$62,033Not reported
Chemistry.Not reported$65,120Not reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Not reported$55,378Not reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections.Not reported$66,714Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10