Private nonprofitFour-year

Tufts University

Medford, MA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$39,998
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$70,704
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
93.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$83,214
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$88,300
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$70,704
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$70,704
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$18,588
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$18,588
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00011,284
$30,001–48,0009,811
$48,001–75,00014,923
$75,001–110,00023,311
$110,001+58,570

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
93.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
94.0%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
95.5%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$68,337
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$83,214
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$16,250
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$172.28
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
91.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $83,214 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
11.5%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,513
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
33–35
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
7,061
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
10:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
15.3%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
12.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
18.9%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$85,930
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White41%
Hispanic10%
Black6%
Asian17%
Two or more races8%
Nonresident / international13%

Other Four-year institutions in MA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American International CollegeNot reported45.9%$53,124
Amherst CollegeNot reported93.9%$77,644
Anna Maria CollegeNot reported46.2%$46,651
Assumption UniversityNot reported75.2%$74,895
Babson CollegeNot reported93.1%$123,938
Bay Path UniversityNot reported43.9%$55,383
Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of TechnologyNot reported45.8%$57,556
Bentley UniversityNot reported86.8%$120,959
Berklee College of MusicNot reported67.3%$33,647
Boston Architectural CollegeNot reported31.6%$62,123
Boston Baptist CollegeNot reported14.3%$34,159
Boston CollegeNot reported90.8%$103,937

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences.$296,331$207,164Not reported
Dentistry.$175,048$170,812Not reported
Engineering-Related Fields.$162,502$125,651Not reported
Computer Science.$156,343$107,009$15,500
Veterinary Medicine.$145,237$131,316Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$139,106$127,347Not reported
International Business.$137,230$97,121Not reported
Cognitive Science.$130,801$81,496$18,000
Economics.$123,809$82,686$17,850
International Relations and National Security Studies.$108,836$95,627Not reported
Public Health.$106,072$82,751Not reported
Medicine.$104,668$112,460Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$101,196$92,135$16,500
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology.$89,553$82,527Not reported
Civil Engineering.$88,924$86,517Not reported
Urban Studies/Affairs.$83,598$79,634Not reported
Nutrition Sciences.$80,997$67,126Not reported
Veterinary Biomedical and Clinical Sciences.$80,661$119,562Not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions.$80,073$71,416Not reported
Research and Experimental Psychology.$79,571$55,695$15,875

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10