PublicFour-year

University of Massachusetts-Lowell

Lowell, MA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$17,163
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$16,966
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
64.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$64,874
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$30,786
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$16,966
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$36,264
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$16,148
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$6,900
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,200
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0009,943
$30,001–48,00010,199
$48,001–75,00012,141
$75,001–110,00016,460
$110,001+26,139

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
64.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
73.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
84.0%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$61,467
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$64,874
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$23,704
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$251.30
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
63.8%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $64,874 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
83.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,285
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
25–32
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
11,434
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
17:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
31.8%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
30.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
53.0%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$53,801
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White49%
Hispanic17%
Black10%
Asian14%
Two or more races3%
Nonresident / international3%

Other Four-year institutions in MA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American International CollegeNot reported45.9%$53,124
Amherst CollegeNot reported93.9%$77,644
Anna Maria CollegeNot reported46.2%$46,651
Assumption UniversityNot reported75.2%$74,895
Babson CollegeNot reported93.1%$123,938
Bay Path UniversityNot reported43.9%$55,383
Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of TechnologyNot reported45.8%$57,556
Bentley UniversityNot reported86.8%$120,959
Berklee College of MusicNot reported67.3%$33,647
Boston Architectural CollegeNot reported31.6%$62,123
Boston Baptist CollegeNot reported14.3%$34,159
Boston CollegeNot reported90.8%$103,937

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Computer Science.$151,603$145,571Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$137,144$133,654Not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, General.$132,707$124,201Not reported
Computer Engineering.$130,170$136,736Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$128,785$94,506Not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$125,044$120,193Not reported
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians.$120,219$82,073Not reported
Health and Medical Administrative Services.$119,763$89,981Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$119,730$103,485Not reported
Mechanical Engineering.$117,288$115,974Not reported
Accounting and Related Services.$111,662$95,833Not reported
Computer Science.$111,612$107,009$27,000
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$109,714$66,714Not reported
Biomedical/Medical Engineering.$107,285$106,375Not reported
Polymer/Plastics Engineering.$107,285$114,668Not reported
International Relations and National Security Studies.$103,784$95,627Not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering.$101,054$100,647$27,000
Polymer/Plastics Engineering.$100,428$92,919$27,000
Computer Engineering.$97,547$109,015$27,000
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$97,509$74,072Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10