Private nonprofitFour-year

College of the Holy Cross

Worcester, MA · Highest award: Bachelor's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$38,782
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$64,500
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
87.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$90,543
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$80,334
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$64,500
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$64,500
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$18,820
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$18,820
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,000
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00014,343
$30,001–48,00016,179
$48,001–75,00012,682
$75,001–110,00027,711
$110,001+56,284

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
87.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
91.2%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
94.8%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$69,984
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$90,543
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$27,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$286.24
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
86.9%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $90,543 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
17.6%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
1,353
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
27–32
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
3,106
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
9:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
16.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
14.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
37.7%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$106,778
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White68%
Hispanic13%
Black5%
Asian3%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international3%

Other Four-year institutions in MA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
American International CollegeNot reported45.9%$53,124
Amherst CollegeNot reported93.9%$77,644
Anna Maria CollegeNot reported46.2%$46,651
Assumption UniversityNot reported75.2%$74,895
Babson CollegeNot reported93.1%$123,938
Bay Path UniversityNot reported43.9%$55,383
Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of TechnologyNot reported45.8%$57,556
Bentley UniversityNot reported86.8%$120,959
Berklee College of MusicNot reported67.3%$33,647
Boston Architectural CollegeNot reported31.6%$62,123
Boston Baptist CollegeNot reported14.3%$34,159
Boston CollegeNot reported90.8%$103,937

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Economics.$118,131$82,686$27,000
Accounting and Related Services.$114,088$76,194$27,000
Physics.$99,165$76,786Not reported
Mathematics.$96,927$69,562$27,000
Chemistry.$93,122$65,120$27,000
Biology, General.$92,914$57,214$27,000
Political Science and Government.$88,088$63,293$27,000
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.$76,301$55,000$26,975
English Language and Literature, General.$74,214$48,590$27,000
Psychology, General.$74,095$50,706$27,000
History.$72,423$50,680$27,000
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other.$72,290$55,693$27,000
International/Globalization Studies.$71,280$59,972$23,000
Sociology.$64,642$52,657$26,449
Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.$52,639$49,429Not reported
Neurobiology and Neurosciences.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Statistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Medieval and Renaissance Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy.Not reported$54,455Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10