Private nonprofitFour-year

McDaniel College

Westminster, MD · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$21,916
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$52,081
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
63.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$60,663
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$65,294
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$52,081
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$52,081
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$12,974
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$14,250
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,522
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00012,210
$30,001–48,00017,261
$48,001–75,00019,796
$75,001–110,00021,408
$110,001+30,694

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
63.3%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
66.5%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
76.0%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$47,879
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$60,663
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$25,000
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$265.04
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
79.4%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $60,663 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
77.9%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
1,617
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
13:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
26.4%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
36.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
58.4%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$70,197
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White53%
Hispanic11%
Black24%
Asian2%
Two or more races7%
Nonresident / international1%

Other Four-year institutions in MD

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Bais HaMedrash and Mesivta of BaltimoreNot reported31.8%Not reported
Bowie State University$19,29838.2%$54,537
Capitol Technology UniversityNot reported42.7%$85,035
Coppin State University$9,97726.2%$46,490
Denver Seminary - Washington DCNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Frostburg State University$16,71549.7%$55,493
Goucher CollegeNot reported57.3%$53,023
Hood CollegeNot reported56.9%$57,089
Johns Hopkins UniversityNot reported93.8%$87,555
Loyola University MarylandNot reported79.2%$82,652
Maryland Institute College of ArtNot reported72.2%$45,212
Morgan State University$14,98540.9%$50,698

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Accounting and Related Services.$93,347$76,194$24,210
Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education.$92,383$77,313$18,093
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$78,830$68,257$25,000
Curriculum and Instruction.$76,616$63,399Not reported
Student Counseling and Personnel Services.$67,374$60,111Not reported
Communication and Media Studies.$65,411$56,359$25,000
Psychology, General.$60,264$50,706$25,662
Sociology.$55,851$52,657$25,000
Biology, General.$51,307$57,214$21,375
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.$50,185$54,562$25,697
Social Work.$47,607$51,790$25,000
Special Education and Teaching.Not reported$64,397Not reported
Special Education and Teaching.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.Not reported$59,916Not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas.Not reported$63,707Not reported
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language.Not reported$65,767Not reported
Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,459Not reported
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
American Sign Language.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10