PublicTwo-year

Southern Maine Community College

South Portland, ME · Highest award: Associate's

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$11,086
Academic year 2023-24
In-state tuition
$4,156
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,661
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$18,531
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$4,156
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$7,036
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$10,974
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$9,098
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,400
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,0009,654
$30,001–48,00010,090
$48,001–75,00011,666
$75,001–110,00012,946
$110,001+14,660

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
Not reported
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
Not reported
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,780
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$41,661
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$10,331
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$109.53
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
48.0%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $41,661 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
Not reported
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
5,675
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
20:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
39.1%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
29.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
11.8%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$26,271
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White72%
Hispanic5%
Black12%
Asian3%
Two or more races4%
Nonresident / international2%

Other Two-year institutions in ME

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
Beal UniversityNot reportedNot reported$35,639
Central Maine Community College$6,975Not reported$42,448
Eastern Maine Community College$8,928Not reported$41,704
Kennebec Valley Community College$3,910Not reported$36,035
Northern Maine Community College$7,181Not reported$43,348
The Landing SchoolNot reportedNot reported$65,849
Washington County Community College$5,149Not reported$34,407
York County Community College$5,875Not reported$44,873

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.$83,075$67,792$10,250
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$78,509$80,813$24,496
Fire Protection.$76,281$73,589Not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions.$73,385$65,389$16,625
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General.$64,927$51,180$15,750
Computer Science.$63,690$62,283Not reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management.$61,506$54,726$16,824
Electrical and Power Transmission Installers.$57,655$53,078Not reported
Criminal Justice and Corrections.$53,650$46,706$8,750
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$51,990$48,733$9,500
Culinary Arts and Related Services.$49,566$39,605Not reported
Allied Health and Medical Assisting Services.$47,252$42,269$17,500
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$42,858$44,125$10,250
Education, General.$40,357$41,787$12,987
Agricultural Production Operations.$40,025$42,438Not reported
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.$38,045$36,074$10,500
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods.$36,910$37,656Not reported
Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection.Not reported$59,378Not reported
Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services.Not reported$49,996Not reported
Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services.Not reported$67,499Not reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10