Private nonprofitFour-yearHispanic-serving

Simpson University

Redding, CA · Highest award: Graduate degree

Compare this college with another → · Official website ↗

Net price (avg)
$27,817
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees
$39,708
Academic year 2024-25
Graduation rate
48.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,340
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars

Read the years, not just the numbers

Each figure below is labelled with the period it covers, because they are not all from the same year. Tuition is Academic year 2024-25, while the earnings figure describes students who entered Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars. They are historical facts about this institution, not a quote for you.

What it actually costs

Net price is what students paid after grant and scholarship aid — usually far below the sticker price.

Total cost of attendance
$54,688
Academic year 2023-24
Tuition & fees (in state)
$39,708
Academic year 2024-25
Tuition & fees (out of state)
$39,708
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (on campus)
$11,900
Academic year 2024-25
Room & board (off campus)
$22,086
Academic year 2024-25
Books & supplies
$1,200
Academic year 2024-25

Average net price by family income

Academic year 2023-24

$0–30,00025,511
$30,001–48,00022,738
$48,001–75,00028,479
$75,001–110,00029,656
$110,001+30,163

Figures are U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard data for Academic year 2023-24, published by the U.S. federal government. They are historical reference values, not a quote, and not an offer. Your actual cost will depend on your own circumstances.

This college’s official net price calculator ↗

Outcomes

Historical results for students who attended. They do not predict your own.

Graduation rate (150% time)
48.8%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Graduation rate (200% time)
46.6%
Fall 2018 entering cohort (150%), Fall 2016 (200%)
Retention (full-time)
60.4%
Fall 2023 cohort
Median earnings (6 yr)
$51,256
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,340
Entering cohort AY2009-10 / 2010-11, measured in 2022 dollars
Loan default rate (3 yr)
0.0%
FSA FY2022 cohort
Median debt of completers
$18,750
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Median debt monthly payment
$198.78
NSLDS FY2020/21 pooled
Repayment rate (3 yr)
66.5%
NSLDS FY2013/14 cohort

Compared with a high-school graduate

Students here earned a median of $54,340 ten years after entering, against a national benchmark for high-school graduates of $36,082. That benchmark is 2023 ACS 5-year pooled, 2024 dollars.

Admissions and size

Many institutions do not report these — “Not reported” is not a zero.

Admission rate
86.0%
Fall 2024
Average SAT (equivalent)
Not reported
Fall 2024
ACT 25th–75th percentile
Not reported
Fall 2024
Undergraduate enrollment
809
Fall 2024
Student-faculty ratio
17:1
Fall 2024
First-generation share
37.6%
Fall 2024
Pell grant recipients
44.1%
Academic year 2023-24
Federal loan recipients
62.6%
Academic year 2023-24
Median family income
$34,920
AY2022-23 (median family income)

Student body

Fall 2024

White45%
Hispanic29%
Black4%
Asian5%
Two or more races9%
Nonresident / international4%

Other Four-year institutions in CA

Peer institutions
InstitutionNet priceGrad rateEarnings (10 yr)
ATI College-WhittierNot reported72.2%$38,938
Abraham Lincoln UniversityNot reported0.0%Not reported
Academy for Jewish Religion CaliforniaNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Academy of Art UniversityNot reported34.3%$39,008
Academy of Chinese Culture and Health SciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Acupuncture and Integrative Medicine College-BerkeleyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Agape College of Business and ScienceNot reported77.8%Not reported
Alder Graduate School of EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alhambra Medical UniversityNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alliant International University-FresnoNot reportedNot reported$66,666
Alliant International University-IrvineNot reportedNot reported$66,666
Alliant International University-Los AngelesNot reportedNot reported$66,666

Earnings by field of study

Four years after graduation, by programme. Compare each against the national median for that field.

Earnings by field of study
ProgrammeMedian earnings (4 yr)National medianMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing.$113,623$88,910$28,635
Education, General.$68,735$65,824Not reported
Human Resources Management and Services.$65,797$68,069Not reported
Business Administration, Management and Operations.$58,478$68,257$20,708
Psychology, General.$56,902$50,706$22,250
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.$52,311$53,072$19,000
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reported$55,000Not reported
Middle/Near Eastern and Semitic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
English Language and Literature, General.Not reported$48,590Not reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biology, General.Not reported$57,214Not reported
Biotechnology.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mathematics.Not reported$69,562Not reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies.Not reported$50,983Not reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reported$41,390Not reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religion/Religious Studies.Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source: U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard (release 2026-06-10) — https://collegescorecard.ed.gov/data/ · Data last updated 2026-06-10